Calgary Jeep Association

Author Topic: Buying a jeep  (Read 13384 times)

Offline Sprockett

• Budget Lift
Buying a jeep
« on: January 17, 2009, 05:18:30 PM »
I would have thought to find alot of posts like this but didn't really.

I am new to Jeeps but considering one. I tried some offroading at the end of fall and think I would like to continue. I am in a 95 Toyota right now but breaking it is expensive and modifying even more so...plus, it seems to be worth a good price to sell it.

The Jeep will be my third car, second toy and winter vehicle...I already have another summer sports car. First I was thinking a Wrangler but I was just test driving one and it seems pretty harsh for a daily drive to work. It was a stock 98 TJ at that. So maybe an XJ would be a better choice. Basically, I need to live with it on the street (in winter especially) and want to wheel it when I can.

Budget is up for grabs but since its a third car I'm not looking at like $10,000 vehicles. Anyone want to share random thoughts? YJ vs TJ vs XJ? What do I watch out for when puchasing? What's cheap to fix and what's not?

Thanks for any input,
Ryan
My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife sell all my stuff for what I said I paid for it.

Offline barmanjay

• That CB Yapper
  • Wanna buy a trail? or Garage w/attached house?
Re: Buying a jeep
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2009, 06:26:32 PM »
my input

yj's are cheaper to mod as they are leaf springs, much harder ride

older,.. more things break
« Last Edit: January 17, 2009, 06:46:30 PM by barmanjay »
The realtor that gets dirty
Dirty Old YJ , 4" spring lift and 33's  - Sold - *snif*
300C SRT8 - Workmobile

Jason Kim
Realtor
Maxwell City Central
889-4747

www.jaykim.ca

Offline sylvrinvader

• That CB Yapper
  • the micro wheeler
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2009, 07:34:16 PM »
i have a 03 tj for a dd and i dont mind it a all remember its a jeep so the only real question is what do you need for storage space