Calgary Jeep Association

Author Topic: ZJ diff question  (Read 3775 times)

Offline w squared

• Talks waaay too much!
  • Keamy Hungry!
ZJ diff question
« on: December 03, 2009, 10:27:59 PM »
I've got an acquaintance (I'd don't know him well enough to really call him a friend) that's considering picking up an older ZJ (Either a 97 or 98, I can't remember which he said) as a trail rig. He likes the idea of having a V-8, and likes the asking price.

The thing is that I'm not too sure that the guy trying to sell it to him is on the straight and level. He's told my acquaintance that because he didn't put the friction modifier (for the Trac-Loc LSD) into the rear diff, it's just as good as having a locker.  ???

I'm not a mechanic (and I didn't even stay at a Holiday Inn express last night), but my gut tells me that there's a difference between a real locker (or a spool, or Lincoln Lockers) and some beat-up clutch packs that are being run without a friction modifier. I'm not even sure that this idea would work as well as something like an Aussie locker...

Am I out to lunch, or is this guy trying to pull a fast one? Or maybe he just doesn't know what he's talking about. Any thoughts?
I followed a rainbow out to a garage and found a leprichaun. The rainbow ended in a potted cactus on his porch, but there was no gold :(

Offline JackstandJohnny

• Talks waaay too much!
  • where Jeeps go to die
Re: ZJ diff question
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2009, 10:36:12 PM »
what does it have for an engine in it Todd? if its a 6, it'll have the D35 and a trashloc in it. if its a V8 its a D44a, and its completely open. so if the jeep has an V8 he's full of it. 

~ rescue green JKUR on 35s.  typical rubicon build

Offline w squared

• Talks waaay too much!
  • Keamy Hungry!
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2009, 11:08:17 PM »