Calgary Jeep Association

Author Topic: No doors and mirror laws  (Read 9385 times)

RedYJ

No doors and mirror laws
« on: June 13, 2005, 08:42:29 PM »
Have anyone here had any troubles with having no doors on their Jeep?  or no mirrors?

Offline Elsifer

• Talks waaay too much!
No doors and mirror laws
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2005, 09:28:08 PM »
If I recall correctly (iirc), and I am not a lawyer (ianal); the Highway Traffic Act stipulates that a street legal motor vehicle must have: A) seatbelts B) turn signals and a brake light C) side view mirrors D) a horn.

Now, don't take my word for it, but I am sure running doorless is ok (you should be wearing a seatbelt anyways), but make sure you have sideview mirrors. Plus I think a windshield is mandatory as well, unless its a motorbike.

And pull the proper fuse so your interior light isnt always on, like some dimwit I witnessed a few weeks ago.

Don't take my word for it. And don't go blaming me either! :D
VA6CPL
Jeepless....

Offline BlackYJ

• Talks waaay too much!
    • http://www3.telus.net/ccjc/page0002.html
No doors and mirror laws
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2005, 09:43:22 PM »
You don't need side mirrors just a rear view mirror because some of the older cars only have a driver's side, side mirror.

Also I would not worry too much about driving around in the city with no doors, people do it all the time.  If you were to ask a Calgary Police Officer about it, they would probably give you a dumbfounded look, nothing against the police but when it comes to stuff like that, they just don't know.  However, I would not do it on the highway or in BC.  In BC you are only allowed to take the doors off if it could have come from the facotry with no doors, so CJs are OK.

Swamprat almost got a ticket for no doors but he had them in the back
'95 YJ with a few mods

henry

No doors and mirror laws
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2005, 09:44:27 PM »