Calgary Jeep Association

Author Topic: 1/2 Doors and a Soft Top Year Round...... Brilliant or the Worst Idea Ever?  (Read 3628 times)

Offline Robbie2013

• Stocker
I am a newbie here and hope I am asking this int the right location? 

I currently wheel a Tacoma and am making a switch to a JK.  I really want a soft top with the 1/2 doors but wanted to ask some people from Calgary how bad of a decision this will be for our winters?  I have read a bunch of people from the southern states, and they all say its fine, but I don't think anyone I have talked to has run them on a -20 winter day. 

Does anyone have 1/2 doors they run year round?  Does the side window crack?  Can you see out of it?  Am I making a horrible mistake?

I am excited to make the jump and look forward to being a Jeeper!

Offline fug

• CJA Executive
  • Talks waaay too much!
  • Airdrie Pick n Pull
Anything is possible it's just a matter of what you're willing to put up with. 

I found the plastic windows a pain in the arse in winter... they are fragile when cold so you can't scrape them... and if you do manage to scrape without breaking you'll surely scratch them making it difficult to see out of.  I also have to swipe to get into parking at work and the zippers were also painful in the cold.  The other fun thing was the condensation on the inside of the fabric... you get dripped on as you drive... it's a ton of fun.

Most of my complaints are applicable if you are planning to daily drive it. If you're not daily driving it then it's doable... the heater in the jeep is good enough to keep you warm with the soft top.
Fug
TJ Rubicon

Offline JackstandJohnny

• Talks waaay too much!
  • where Jeeps go to die
soft top is doable. 

the half doors is not.
~ rescue green JKUR on 35s.  typical rubicon build

Offline fony3

• UberWheeler