Calgary Jeep Association

Author Topic: What tires do you guys recommend?  (Read 3097 times)

Offline CB3

• Stocker
What tires do you guys recommend?
« on: December 27, 2010, 01:18:51 AM »
What tires do you guys recommend that will work well on mud, ice, snow, winter roads, and daily driving on highway year round?

Note: they have to be good on winter roads and able to be used year round on highway too.

What tire and what size?

Should I add cut sipes, or not?

P.S. - no, I haven't lost my interest in Trxus MT, but I want to learn what others like and why. If there is a tire out there that is already made that fits my needs, I'd love to hear about it. I'm not married to Trxus.

P.S. - I'm not a newbie to 4 wheeling, but I am a newbie to anything other than Cooper (AT, LT, and ST) and BFG (AT). I've always bought Cooper and BFG tires, but I'm no longer satisfied with Cooper or BFG treads. I'm impressed with my friends' Trxus MT tires performance, which I've not witnessed them using, and one of these guys put his Trxus MT 34 X 12.5 on my Jeep for 2 weeks for me to test. I was impressed with Trxus MT offroad. However, I'm open to other brands and other suggestions.

Edited in Later: I forgot to mention it earlier, but I have also previously run Goodyear MTR (old style) and Goodyear Wrangler. I currently run Goodyear tires on my car (came with them). So far, I've been disappointed with every Goodyear tire I've ever tried. However, I'd consider trying MTR-K or Duratrac - since I've heard good things.
« Last Edit: December 27, 2010, 10:56:26 PM by CB3 »

Offline Spinalguy

• Talks waaay too much!
    • http://www.spinalguy.com
Re: What tires do you guys recommend?
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2010, 08:42:34 AM »
i ran a 37x14.50 Toyo open country MT on my Rubi. i felt safe in any condition and they flat out performed offroad.
i ran a 35x12.50 (equivalent) BFG AT on my 97 12V Ram longbox. i felt safe onroad and offroad, they were not great.