Calgary Jeep Association

Author Topic: YJ build  (Read 2703 times)

maritimeYJ

YJ build
« on: December 09, 2005, 10:22:33 AM »
So I've done a search thru this forum, but the search option comes up with alot of posts (not useful).  And I haven't seen a post like this in a while.  So I'm fairly new to the jeep scene and I want to build my YJ.  My rig is pretty much stock.  Before I moved out here I restored the frame and body with 1/8th plate, put in a 1.5" BL, TJ flares.  So needless to say..I drive a stocker.  So what I want to do is plan out my build to reduce the cost of changing parts down the road...do it right the first time.

Obviously is money wasn't an issue, I wouldn't be writing this post.

I guess the first thing is..what do I want it for?  Well I basically want an all around rig to play with on the weekends, but still be able to drive it around the city...I'm not interested in one specific type of wheeling.  I don't plan on going any bigger then 33's or 35's so what suggestions on axles?  Keep the D35 and D30 or will I break them?  Should I go bigger?

My tranny is starting to die I think so I'll be changing that soon.  Its the crappy Peugot, so what tranny should go with?  Also by changing to a particular tranny, what else will I have to change? TC? etc?

I understand that alot of parts are universal, ie ford, chevy dodge will fit with some modification, but should I try and stay jeep or all ford etc?

So I guess I'm looking for an outline of a plan for what to upgrade and what not to.

lockers, axles, TC, tranny, etc.

Any help would be appreciated..thanks

Offline BlackYJ

• Talks waaay too much!
    • http://www3.telus.net/ccjc/page0002.html
YJ build
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2005, 01:43:07 PM »